top of page


Written and Directed by John Jahnke

Original Score by Fennesz

Premiered at the BAM Next Wave Festival 2015
Previewed at Mt Tremper Arts

The ancient Greek myth of Hylas—about an Argonaut presumed to have been abducted by water nymphs—is resuscitated by Hotel Savant as a bacchic parade of fragmented poetry, psychosexual intrigue, and dance-theater-cum-art-installation. With music by Austrian electronic composer Fennesz, Alas, The Nymphs... is a lurid meditation on eros and power, submerging contemporary consciousness in mythic guilts and desires.It is the first section of Jahnke's trilogy, Men Go Down, and the second section to be staged.

Created in residence at The MacDowell Colony, Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, The Park Avenue Armory and Abrons Art Center, with the support of NYSCA, DCA, Bel Geddes Design Award and a Joyce Mertz-Gilmore dance grant. Fennesz's score commissioned and made possible through the Austrian Cultural Forum New York. Listen HERE on Soundcloud.

Photos © Maria Baranova.
©2020 Hotel Savant
bottom of page